Auburn Historic District

Auburn was created in 1882 through the merger of two adjacent, competing railroad towns. Sheridan, initially established in the 1860’s, was threatened with abandonment in 1881 when the Burlington & Missouri Railroad (B&M) bypassed the existing town to build its own town, Calvert, only one mile to the south. The survival of towns during this era was dependent on the railroads. Sheridan, with the help of politician Church Howe and businessman Charles Nixon, attracted the Missouri Pacific Railroad (M&P) who built their depot less than a year later on the north side of Sheridan. Sheridan and Calvert subsequently merged in order to gain support for the acquisition of the Nemaha County seat. As a compromise, Courthouse Square was situated halfway between the two towns. Starting in the mid-1880’s, with two depots and the County seat, Auburn began to grow in a regional center for commerce.

There are five (5) structures currently listed on the National Register of Historic Places: 

  1. Nemaha County Courthouse
  2. First United Presbyterian Church
  3. New Opera House
  4. Auburn United States Post Office
  5. Legion Memorial Park 

On July 13, 2012, the City of Auburn created the Historic Preservation Commission, which would have principal responsibility for matters Of historic preservation Of the City. On October 8, 2012, the Commission became a Certified Local Government (CLG). July 14, 2014, the Auburn Historic District was officially listed on the National Register of Historic Places. On November 10, 2014, the Auburn Historic District was officially designated as a Local Landmark in the City Of Auburn.